Mises Review

Displaying 51 - 60 of 389

Rescuing Justice and Equality, by G. A. Cohen

Philosophy and MethodologyPolitical Theory

12/01/2008Mises Review
The title of G.A. Cohen's remarkable book suggests an obvious question. Cohen wishes to rescue justice and equality; but from whom or what are these in danger? Cohen's target will strike many readers as surprising:
Read More

Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Archenemy Betrayed the American Revolution — and What It Means for America Today, by Thomas J. DiLorenzo

12/01/2008Mises Review
After you read the dedication of Hamilton's Curse , you know that the book is going to be good: "Dedicated to the memory of Professor Murray N. Rothbard, a brilliant scholar and tireless defender of the free society."
Read More

Red Hot Lies: How Global Warming Alarmists Use Threats, Fraud, and Deception to Keep You Misinformed, by Christopher C. Horner

Big GovernmentThe Environment

12/01/2008Mises Review
Those of us who refuse to accept calls from proponents of global warming for drastic restrictions on production often confront objections like this: You skeptics, blinded by fanatical devotion to the free market, ignore evidence.
Read More

Courts and Congress: America's Unwritten Constitution, by William J. Quirk

Legal SystemU.S. History

12/01/2008Mises Review
Courts and Congress defends a revolutionary thesis. If asked, who has the final say in our government on the meaning of the Constitution, most people would say, the Supreme Court.
Read More

Vindicating Lincoln: Defending the Politics of Our Greatest President, by Thomas L. Krannawitter

BiographiesU.S. History

10/01/2008Mises Review
When I reached page 222 of Vindicating Lincoln , I almost threw the book across the room. There I read, "First, the latest iterations of European philosophy during the antebellum period
Read More

Smart Power: Toward a Prudent Foreign Policy for America, by Ted Galen Carpenter

War and Foreign Policy

10/01/2008Mises Review
Ted Galen Carpenter has given us, on the whole, an excellent and very useful book; but it contains a crucial flaw. The book, which collects essays and columns that Carpenter has written since 2002,
Read More

Sovereignty: God, State, and Self, by Jean Bethke Elshtain

World HistoryPolitical Theory

10/01/2008Mises Review
Several years ago, I wrote a diatribe against Jean Elshtain's Just War Against Terror . She was not altogether pleased by this and sent in a letter of protest, which evoked yet more venom from me.
Read More

A Nation of Sheep, by Andrew P. Napolitano

Legal SystemThe Police State

10/01/2008Mises Review
Judge Napolitano has organized his excellent book around a central metaphor. He contrasts sheep, who follow their shepherd with unquestioning devotion, and wolves, who are alert to protect themselves:
Read More

Who Killed the Constitution? The Fate of American Liberty from World War I to George W. Bush, by Thomas E. Woods, Jr.

Legal SystemU.S. History

10/01/2008Mises Review
The question posed by the title of this book raises a further question, as the authors are well aware. If the Constitution is indeed dead, why does this matter? American conservatives have in past days been accused of "Constitution worship":
Read More

Anarchism/Minarchism: Is a Government Part of a Free Country?, by Roderick T. Long and Tibor R. Machan

Political Theory

10/01/2008Mises Review
Libertarians of course believe in the free market; if you find someone who favors the government provision of medical care or education, e.g., you know immediately that he is not a full-fledged libertarian.
Read More
Shield icon library